Light on a Hill.

I’ve got some thoughts today on this verse: “You are the light of the world. A city that is set on a hill cannot be hidden. Nor do they light a lamp and put it under a basket, but on a lampstand, and it gives light to all who are in the house. Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works and glorify your Father in heaven.” Matthew 5:14-16.  I am sure at some point if you grew up in church you have heard this verse.  I decided to re-read the book of Matthew and stumbled upon it.

Have you ever been on an airplane at night?  Sometimes when you go over big cities you can see the lights of the city or town below sort of twinkle.  Kinda like the picture below. That’s the bright lights of Dallas from 30,000 feet.

dallas

Imagine if you will that all the lights in the picture are homes and businesses of Christians.  And the dark parts, well those are the areas where Christ’s light hasn’t reached yet.  Some parts of course are darker than others, but those lights, those homes and businesses, are lighting the way for others to reach Jesus.  Some of the areas are so bright they are blinding.  This whole concept of light and dark is much more than a picture I took out of an airplane window.

What I mean is those lights in that picture can be turned off.  That’s just the truth of it.  Jesus is the light inside of us and it can’t be turned off.  I think maybe it can be dimmed but never turned off.  Which means that we are set apart.  We walk around this Earth with an internal light that shines on the darkness even when we don’t realize it.  Darkness will always try to diminish the light, but it can’t. It’s like vs 15 says: “Nor do they light a lamp and put it under a basket…” it’s not meant to be put out.

So much turmoil is happening in the world around us, this last week alone in my home state gay marriage was made legal.  That’s a big deal.  I think it’s more important than ever for us to make sure the light inside of us is blinding to the darkness.  I’m not talking about holier than thou towards others, I’m talking about the internal lightness shining forth so that the only thing people see when you interact with them is Christ’s love.  Trust me I hear what I am saying and this is just as much for me as it is for you.  Until next time…

Leave a comment