Passion.

“After salvation, even as we become more and more conformed to the image of Christ, we are also becoming more and more our true selves.  As the fruit of the spirit increases in us, God restores order within us. Our minds are renewed, we learn to do the natural thing spiritually and the spiritual thing naturally.”

I didn’t say this, I read it in a study on the book of Romans.  It speaks to our passions.  When we come to know Christ and understand it’s a personal relationship, He begins to mold us.  He doesn’t strip us of everything, the bad stuff, yes.  The stuff that hinders us from building His kingdom, yes.  But the good stuff, that stuff he can use He begins to re-direct.  He molds those things that excite us and are deep within us to His plan.

Sometimes we get off track from our passions.  I think this is where he gives us a gentle reminder.  Sometimes not so gentle.  He’s a good God.  I’m reminded of this verse, “Delight yourself also in the Lord, And He shall give you the desires of your heart.”  It’s in Psalm 37, we start to grow in our relationship to the Lord he makes those passions burn hotter.  It’s what we do with those passions that’s the next step.

I don’t want to get ahead of God.  His plan and his timing is perfect, it’s up to me to continually lay the passion at His feet so that he can mold them in the way that He sees fit.  This is where those naked prayers come into play.  I’m not sure why we hide things from the Lord.  He sees everything, just like in the Garden when Adam and Eve try to hide their nakedness.  God knows, and asks them why they try and hide from Him.  He wants them to be honest.  To lay everything out before Him.

Here’s another quote that I read, “Never doubt that you are seen, fully known and deeply loved. He knows your name. He knows every detail and secret petition of you heart and He is mindful of you. You are His and He is yours. Trust in His timing, His promises, and His love. He will never fail you.”  The passion you have is real and from Him.

Fear is what holds us back.  It grips me at times and I know that the Lord doesn’t work like that.  The passion He gives does not come with room for fear.  We give it place that it does not deserve.  “There is no fear in love; but perfect love casts out fear, because fear involves torment. But he who fears has not been made perfect in love. 1 John 4:18.”

My dear friend, though I know these words are for me I pray that they speak to you today as well.  To calm your anxious heart and allow the Lord to speak to you.  He will.  Just be ready when He does because I have no doubt He will probably rock your world.

2b5f581f41ebd85134723c28cd4adac7

Leave a comment